More food recipes, don’t mind if I do. I’ve come around more and more to coconut. I still don’t like Piña coladas so I wouldn’t say it’s my favorite but baking with coconut is getting tastier. My mum shared this bread recipe with us over the holidays and I really liked the change from the sweet breads I’d been making. The bread turned out fluffy and tasted best hot out of the pan. Try adding a little jam or toast it up with a little butter and cinnamon. It would also make a great banana french toast.

VANILLA ALMOND SPONGE BREAD

ADK Photography Copyright 2013

Ingredients

6 eggs

Seeds from 1/4 pod of vanilla bean

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbs butter, melted

2 tbs full fat coconut milk

1/4 cup coconut flour

pinch of nutmeg

pinch of sea salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

2 tbs sliced almonds

Steps

1.Preheat oven to 350F

2.Whisk eggs, vanilla bean, vanilla extract, butter and coconut milk in a large mixing bowl.  Sift coconut flow, nutmeg, salt and baking soda into the egg mixture and continue whisking until combined

3.Pour the egg mixture into a 9 inch x 9 inch baking dish lined with parchment paper.  Top with sliced almonds and bake for approximately 40 minutes or until the edges are brown and a toothpick wipes clean when testing the center.

If you wanted to make it a a savory herb loaf you could add – 1 cup fresh herbs (rosemary or sage, or thyme, or lemon peel, etc) and 1/2 cup coarse sea salt.

ADK20130105 0105 W

