Rain storms blew through SD recently and postponed a doggy graduation session (I know you guys like those happy dogs in grad hats,) but it inspired me to try a new location I’ve had my eye on. I would say most people think, rain, dark skies, sprained ankle, well that’s it i’m staying in. Sometimes there’s a fine line between adventure and stupidity. Luckily this turned out to be an adventure. Everything fell into place nicely. The storm was slated to be gone by afternoon so it looked like we would get the clouds but no drenching rain. Location, check, model, check, assistant, check, hair and makeup, check check. Even made a few DIY colored filters to play with thanks to my awesome coloring assistant Vivi. Everyone was down for my, “Let’s go shoot outside in the rain” idea. On to the visuals, shall we.

ADK Photography Copyright 2013

ADK Photography Copyright 2013
ADK Photography Copyright 2013ADK Photography Copyright 2013ADK Photography Copyright 2013ADK Photography Copyright 2013ADK Photography Copyright 2013ADK Photography Copyright 2013ADK Photography Copyright 2013ADK Photography Copyright 2013ADK Photography Copyright 2013ADK Photography Copyright 2013ADK Photography Copyright 2013

Ok, now for some behind the scenes.

ADK Photography Copyright 2013

There was mud, mud, and more mud. My boots are still sitting on my porch waiting for me to chip it away. It accumulated until you had a pair of mud boots on your rain boots. Sexy stuff there.ADK Photography Copyright 2013
You can see in the last one that I am shooting through a DIY color filter. It was a Pinterest find and I was curious what it would look like in real world application. It gives you a plastic camera feel to your expensive DSLR images. Not too shocking but it was fun. I could refine the filters more but then I think DIY should be easy peesy and cheap. If you want to try it HERE are the instructions. 

ADK20130127 0150 W

Some of us couldn’t contain their excitement. Anyone else have an adventure lately?

