In April I was lucky enough to work with the very creative Leila Bornales for her birthday party. She wanted to throw a ladies brunch / birthday party in La Jolla to show off her event planning prowess. I worked with her on a invitation to match her color pallet and the items she had already had collected for the decor. She wanted a fresh, girlie, and handmade since she sews and makes jewelry as well. I’m lucky enough to have a pair of earrings she created a few years back. She is a Jill of all creative trades. Having such a diverse creative background makes her a perfect fit for event planning and wonderful to collaborate with.

Her thoughts and vision of what she wanted jived really well with my own design aesthetic. The color pallet included aqua, fuchsia, white, and a mossy green. After a couple of proofs we settled on a square double sided invitation. The shape matched her inspiration piece, the plates she would be using for the place settings. We used some blue envelops I created a while back, but she added a cute heart and string closure for the back.  Along with the invitations I created a birthday banner, cookie labels, a small sign, thank you tags, and place cards to match.

There were lots of little projects that added up to a beautiful party.  I had a blast shopping / hunting for items and collaborating with her on crafts and decor. Together we made pom poms in Aqua, and Aqua with poke-a-dots. I busted out my napkin folding skills with a lotus fold I’ve used before. I really love the wheat grass and deed packet centerpiece idea we came up with.

Leila used her sewing skills to make the gift bags. They were inspired by a vintage lunch bag my grandmother bought and used while living in Japan in the 60’s. She created some cute sunglass cases based on a Martha Stewart online pattern as well for the gift bags.

Her sister makes designer cupcake cakes, and made a oh so cute pink rose bush for the party. Talent runs in the family! Leila baked a number of sweet and savory breakfast dishes that were incredibly tasty. There was a chille relleno egg casserole that seriously rocked my world.

She did such an awesome job and I think anyone would be lucky to have their event planned by this lovely lady. If you have a event you need a planner for, contact me and I can get you in touch with her.

