If  any of you follow current design and decor trends you must have noticed the proliferation of birds in the consumer market. I use them as well in my decor, art, and design. Why would someone who prides herself on going against the grain do this you ask. Well, I have several personal reasons for using bird imagery in my home and imagery.

They make me think of spring, warmth, and sunshine. I was born in Southern Arizona, and have a feeling the need for sun and nature was burned into my subconsciousness not to mention my skin there.

I’ve picked up little nuances from the strong lovely women in my life; and from my  Grandmother K. my avian inclinations were fed. I noticed she had more than one piece in her home and decor involving birds.  Not seagulls or eagles. Mostly song birds or sparrows in size and shape. There is a steal garden bird sculpture and a small hummingbird ornament in the living room. The Robins egg blue in the kitchen and breakfast nook. Then there are her delicate vintage Christmas ornaments of glass birds . She’s the type of lady who likes to rotate her decor each year. So she never puts everything out at once.  The first year she showed me her bird ornaments she told me how her favorite Christmas tree was one in which it was only the birds and silver garland. So like I tie pearls to my Tennessee born Grandmother T. I associate birds with my Grandmother K. OK, bird decor AND drinking Sprite while eating pretzels. Odd how that a taste combination can always transport me.

The last reason is more from an academic standpoint. In fine art and literature women are associated with birds often. Women were and still are depicted with or by our flying friends. Be it the connection to nature and the wild feminine or the caged bird owned by the patriarchal male. Modern day artist and writers still use the same imagery for women, try Luis Alberto Urrea’s “The Hummingbirds Daughter.” Nature and the feminine still resonates today. Do I think all women can and should only be symbolized in this way, no. I do believe that I can make my own associations and imagery informed by the knowledge of how this imagery was used in the past.

Here is one picture from a group I’m experimenting with now. I like the sculptural feel of the glass, and the minimalist surround. I’ve taken a lot of photos of glass and stone in my profession in product photography and still like the look of the smooth reflective surface and light refracting through it. Enjoy!

