Yesterday I went with a great group of women to two wineries north of San Diego in Temecula California. We stopped first at Van Roekel Winery then Maurice Carrie Winery. Here are some snap shots of the day.

The company was great and the day was beautiful. No grapes on the vines but oranges and reds so defiantly a fall feeling. I had so much fun taking pictures I wasn’t keeping up with the rest of the ladies tasting champagne, white wines, and reds. Even inside the tasting rooms there were warm earth tones that mimicked the color range outside.  I shot by looking through the viewfinder and some “from the hip.” People always give me an odd look when they see me place the camera on the ground or resting away from me to take a picture. I love the result that comes from changing the level of perspective. I’m 5’5″ but there are so many more view points in the world.

Ok now to the reviews. The first winery, Van Roekel had a wonderful raspberry champagne. They use steal to ferment the wine in so they were a little sharper than I typically like. The standout in a not so good way were the ladies serving us the wine. I hesitate to call them sommeliers because they were not friendly nor informative about the wines. I don’t pretend to be an expert on wine by any means but I do know how to treat and engage with a customer. One of the ladies along for the trip is a part of their wine club. She is a loyal return customer but that didn’t seem to inspire these ladies to be enthusiastic about their wares. Let me put it this way I got one smile from the both of the ladies serving the entire time, and we tried 6 wines.

The second tasting room we visited was the Maurice Carrie Winery’s. These two places are sister wineries but I was still hopeful we would find a friendlier service from the staff there. We tried a pineapple champagne that was delicious.  Their Muscat was light and had a nice melon flavor to it. The tasting room was packed with people and we were able to have a better time engaging with the staff. Will I go back? Yes because the area was gorgeous and the company fun.

